Stanford Health Care
Stanford, USA





Hospital catalog photographs. Confirm current facilities with the provider.
Clinical Fact Sheet
Key facts
- Intensive care / resuscitation
- Not publicly disclosed
- Buildings
- Not publicly disclosed
- Doctors
- Not publicly disclosed
- Price segment
- Not publicly disclosed
Executive Summary & Profile
Stanford Health Care combines an academic hospital with specialist and ambulatory services connected with Stanford Medicine. The new hospital opened in 2019; institutional community reporting describes licensed capacity and expertise in cancer, neuroscience, cardiovascular care, surgery and transplantation.
Stanford Health Care forms part of Stanford Medicine’s adult care delivery organization alongside Stanford Health Care Tri-Valley and Stanford Medicine Partners. Its official institutional reporting connects clinical care with research and education. The new Stanford Hospital at 500 Pasteur Drive opened for patient care in 2019, while the wider organization also includes outpatient and specialist services.
The reviewed institutional infographic reports 643 licensed beds and 119 licensed intensive care beds. It separately identifies the active medical staff, nurses, residents and fellows, and all employees. These categories are not combined into one doctor count. Likewise, the hospital’s capacity is kept distinct from resources belonging to other Stanford-affiliated institutions or regional partners.
The hospital is described as a Level I trauma center serving the area between San Francisco and San Jose. Its official reporting includes adult emergency visits and Life Flight transport activity as separate measures. This establishes an acute-care role alongside the planned specialist work of the institution, without making the annual number of transports a measure of inpatient capacity.
The clinical profile includes cancer care, neuroscience, cardiovascular medicine, surgery and transplantation. Stanford’s cancer center is described in the institutional material as part of the Stanford Cancer Institute, with National Cancer Institute comprehensive cancer center designation. The designation concerns the organization and scope of cancer-related clinical, scientific and educational activity; it is not a guarantee that a particular treatment will be suitable or successful.
The reporting also identifies outpatient visits and video visits. This reflects a care organization that works through several encounter formats rather than only inpatient admissions. Research, professional education and clinical work are connected through Stanford Medicine, while a university research achievement is not automatically a hospital treatment option or an open clinical trial.
Community reporting addresses financial assistance, community-benefit investment and the hospital’s role in local health needs. The institution also reports a sustainable healthcare certification related to environmental practice. These are distinct aspects of its work, separate from specialist clinical outcomes. The profile draws on the official quality and safety infographic and community implementation strategy, preserving their reporting period and distinguishing the hospital’s licensed capacity from the wider regional and academic organization.
The institution reports the following clinical and infrastructure information: outpatient care: Yes; inpatient beds: 643 (Licensed beds in the FY2026–2028 strategy report.). The scope and reporting period remain those of the linked institutional sources.
The institution publishes a separate tariff, package-information or cost-estimation resource. Official charges / cost-estimation information. The charge list is not the amount every patient pays: select the location, service and insurance or self-pay category.
Core Medical Specialties
- Cardiology
- Childbirth & Citizenship
Available On-Site Services
- Cardiac robotics
- Lucile Packard maternity
- Fetal medicine
- Innovation center